How to Get a Georgia Dealers License
Georgia Dealers License
Georgia Dealer Pre-License Training Class
The first step in obtaining your Georgia dealers licenses it to attend a 4-hour pre-license training course. There is no test in your dealer training course, but the State does require that you sit through the ENTIRE 4-hour course. My name is Delus Johnson, I will be giving your dealer training course. The classes take place in a comfortable hotel meeting rooms all over Georgia. We have classes in Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon, Savannah, and Valdosta (so if you are outside the Atlanta metro you no longer have to drive to Atlanta to attend your training, but you if you are in the Atlanta metro, our Atlanta training specifically covers Atlanta are zoning laws) so no matter where you live you can attend the class at a convenient location near you. Just click on the class schedule link at the top of the page to view your
Entire Dealer License Process is Covered in Dealer
In your class I am going to cover the entire dealer licensing process extensively, we will complete a dealer application and all the dealer license paperwork in your class to ensure that you are completing it correctly and submitting the correct paperwork to the state to get your dealer license issued as soon as possible so you can start your new business as soon as possible and start making money as soon as possible.
Why You Should Obtain a Georgia Dealers License
The one-time tuition that you invest in your training course includes your 4 hour course this beneficial copyrighted dealer training manual, you see here, your manual it also includes completed samples of all the paperwork you will use in your new business, it contains a dealer checklist guide so you know exactly what to do after your class in the correct chronological order and even has page called the DEAL, which gives you a checklist of all the paperwork you will complete when you are selling a vehicle or conducting your first DEAL to help ensure you complete all the correct paperwork, includes copies of the PowerPoint presentation you will view in class that contains lots of great mailing addresses, phone numbers, email addresses, website addresses, your dealer training manual is a GREAT reference guide for you to refer back to after your dealer class, your tuition includes your official State Dealer Training Certificate of Completion that will be issued in your name, which will be required to apply for your dealers license.
Your Tuition Includes
Several Hours of Online Training Accessable After Class
Your tuition includes not only your 4 hour in class training course, but also gives you several hours of additional training that you can access after the course at NO additional charge, your tuition also includes dealer auction training, your Georgia dealer license will allow you access to EVERY dealer auction in the United States but you need to prepare yourself to enter these auctions, you need to learn when to buy and more importantly when NOT to buy, you will also need to learn how to identify vehicles in the dealer auction lanes have damage history so you can bid accordingly because you never want to give a full bid on a vehicle with damage history at a dealer auction, you can access a very extensive dealer auction training module after your course, you will learn about vehicle pricing and negation strategies, profitable aftermarket product training that will boost profits on every sale, you will learn how to donate vehicles for huge tax write-offs, in the training you can access after class you will learn about consignments, how to get a floorplan which is a loan for the vehicles that you are purchasing to resell, how to find the cheapest dealer surety bonds, how to find the cheapest insurance, you will learn how to access the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System to ensure you never buy vehicles that have been reported stolen or had the odometers altered, this is a very important part of the operation of any dealership, you will learn how to identify vehicles that have had the odometer altered, , you will learn about hiring employees, and the training you can access after class also shows you how to obtain government loans for your new business if you are needing some startup funding, all the additional training you can access after class is included in your one time tuition payment.
My goal in your dealer training class is to help you obtain your dealer license as soon as possible, so you can open your new business as soon as possible, so you can start making money as soon as possible. Click on the Big Blue Enroll button at the top of the website to register for your dealer license training class, or scroll down this page for further dealer licensing start up instructions
Building, Office, and Dealer Display Lot
In order to obtain a Georgia dealer’s license you will need to have a building or office and most dealers will need a display lot as well. The State of Georgia does not allow a cloud-based dealer license that would allow you to basically show up in parking lot, sell a vehicle to a customer then disappear forever. The State wants to make sure your customers know where to contact you before or AFTER the sale of the vehicle so you must have a building or office in order to have a dealer license. If you are obtaining a dealers license with what is known as a motor vehicle broker endorsement you can operate from an office complex and no display lot is required and we will talk about all the types of license requirements in your dealer class.
You must have a bricks and mortar building or offic in order for the State of Georgia to issue you your dealer license. You are allowed to use a building at your private residence, but the building must be separate from your actual residence and must be zoned to operate a dealership, this could apply to your if you are in a rural area, but if you are in a city like Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon Savannah, or any city, your city zoning will probably not allow you to operate a dealership in a residential area.
If you do not have a building there are a lot of websites that can help you find a building, such as
prospectnow.com, If you do not have a building, you could also check craigslist, or call a realtor. One of the best ways that I recommend to find a location is to get in your car and burn a couple of tanks of gas driving around areas that you do not normally frequent. Take a different route home from work, go into areas that you do not normally drive through. You will be able to find a location for your dealership, that location is out there waiting for you to start your new business. Maybe you are leery about renting or even purchasing a building so you can get your dealer license. Once you obtain your dealer license you are going to realize this is a very high profit business. You are going to be able to buy vehicles at wholesale at dealer auctions, and you will be amazed at how cheap vehicles can sell for at a dealer auction, and how high they will sell on your lot. The markup on vehicles for dealers is really quite astounding, astonishing, you should be able to easily pay a months rent with the sale of one vehicle. In fact if you are not able to pay your entire months rent with one sale, you should probably be marking the price of your vehicles up higher.
Most Georgia Dealers are Required to have a Display
Most dealers are also required to have a display lot for your vehicles. The display lot must be the same address as your building and must have room for the type of vehicles that you are selling. As stated a moment ago if you are obtaining a BROKER endorsement you are not required to have a display lot but you must have an office and meet all other location requirement. A broker acts an intermediary between the buyer and the seller.
Georgia Dealer Insurance and Dealer Surety Bond
In order to obtain a Georgia dealer license State law requires you obtain insurance and a dealers surety bond. Now these requirements are often confused as the same requirement but the are in fact quite different. Insurance covers the vehicles that you have for sale and the dealer surety bond ensures that you operate with a high level of ethical standards. The state requires your vehicles are insured because there are times when a customer will be out test driving your vehicles, there are time when you or a salesperson will be driving vehicles back and forth from an auction, or at other times you might be delivering a vehicle to a customer after the sale. The State of Georgia requires every vehicle that is driven on any roadway to be insured, including the vehicles that are in your inventory. You must obtain insurance before you obtain your license and in your dealer training class we will cover the minimum amounts of coverage that you will need.
Dealers are selling motor vehicles are also required
to obtain a $35,000 dealer surety bond. Is a $35,000 dealer
surety bond going to cost you $35,000, of course not, the
bond is based on your credit score, with good credit your
bond should cost about 150 to 250 dollars a year, if you have a couple of blemishes on your credit score your bond pricing will be higher. All dealers are required to have a dealer surety bond, this protects customers from the handful of unethical dealers that are not obeying the law, I am sure this will not be you. I am going to talk about the importance of operating your new business with the highest level of ethical standards, which will also lead to much higher profits, we will go over that in your class. You can obtain your insurance and bond from most insurance agents and I am going to show you how to obtain the cheapest insurance and dealer bond in your dealer training class. When you are ready to start your new business, click on the blue enroll button at the top of the website, or scroll down for more startup instructions.
Georgia Sales Tax Number and Federal Employment
In order to obtain a Georgia dealers license you are going to need to get a Georgia Sales Tax License and a Federal Employment Identification number. Both of these steps are covered extensively in your dealer training class. Both of theses steps can be completed online with a few clicks of the mouse and after you attend your dealer license training class, you will know how to easily obtain your sales tax number and your Employment ID Number. The State of Georgia will require you to obtain a Georgia Sales Tax License so you can legally charge sales tax on the vehicles that you sell. And by the way, I am going to cover the EASY collection of sales tax when you sell a vehicle. The software that all dealers will use will compute the sales tax charged to a customer automatically. Very easy to do. But, in order to legally charge sales tax on the vehicles you sell, you must obtain a Georgia sales tax number. And I am going to show you how to obtain this number with a few clicks of the mouse in your dealer class.
You will also be required to obtain what is known as a Federal Employment Identification Number. This is the number the Federal Government assigns to your new business to insure you are paying income taxes on your profits. I am going to make a very bold prediction, when you obtain your dealer license I predict your income will go up dramatically, and with that income increase, I guarantee you Uncle Sam is going to want some of that action, you are going to have to pay taxes on your higher income and a federal tax id number just shows the Federal Government you are prepared to pay taxes on your income. If you have never owned a business I will discuss how to easily keep track of your profits and expenses in your dealer class as well. In your class I will show you how to obtain your Federal Tax ID Number for free, there are companies out there that will charge you $500 or more, In your dealer class I am going to show you how to apply for your Employment ID number in about 5 clicks on the IRS website. When you are ready to start this incredible business, click on the blue enroll button at the top of the page, or scroll down the page for more startup instructions.
Registering a Georgia Dealership with the Georgia
Secretary of State
Registering your business with the Secretary of State, this is a very easy step that we will cover in class, the Georgia Secretary of State is not only the State’s leading election authority, they are also the leading recorder of business entities and they want a record of this business that your are getting ready to start so you will need to register your business with the Secretary of State which is a very simple process that can be done in just a few moments online, however, before you register with the Secretary of State you will need to decide what is known as your business entity so you are going to start this business as a sole proprietor, a corporation, a partnership, or a limited liability company, or what we call an LLC which is one of the most common types of business entities, so you can get some legal advice to guide you on what type of business entity you will be starting your dealership as or you do some research on you own to determine your business entity and I am going to show you how to easily do this in your class, I will cover every step of this process, if you are ready to get started just click the bule enroll button at the top of every page of georgiadealer.com or scroll down for more startup information on how to obtain your own dealer license.
Obtaining a Local Business or Occupational License
This is another step that is just a little bit different from registering your new business with the Secretary of State, the Georgia Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers and by the way the Georgia Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers is the body that has oversight over Georgia dealers and you will learn more about the Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers in your dealer training class, the Board requires dealers to obtain a LOCAL occupational or what may simply be referred to as a BUSINESS license. So you must show the Board that you are operating legally in the city or county that your dealership will be located in. I am going to show you in your class how you can easily obtain an occupational or what may be called a business license from your city or your county. This is also a process that can be done easily online with a few clicks of the mouse.
It may seem like there are a lot of steps that you must complete before you apply for your dealer license and there are a few steps that you must complete before you apply, but some of these steps take just a few moments online, some startup steps are more extensive but we are going to cover each of these steps in depth in your dealer training class and you will receive a very large manual in your class that actually has several check lists that you can refer to after class, so when you leave your training class, you are going to be confident and ready not only to apply for your dealer license correctly but to run your new business as well. When you are ready to change your life with your own Georgia dealer license, click the blue enroll button at the top of the website or scroll down on this page for more start up information.
Automobile Dealer Training
Association State Approved Dealer License Training
Dealer License Fingerprinting Requirement
Next I want to cover your fingerprinting requirement, here very soon you are going to be handling very large financial transactions, when you sell a vehicle, most of the vehicles you sell will be worth several thousands of dollars. These are very LARGE financial transactions that you will have complete oversight over, and many times it may just be you and one customer that are doing a deal, so before the State gives you the responsibility to have oversight over these very large financial transactions, they want to make sure you are a person with a high level of ethical standards, the State does not want to issue a dealers license to someone that stole a car or rolled back odometers, that last thing the State wants to do is issue a dealers license to someone that was managing some auto theft ring so the state requires dealers to be of a higher level of ethical standards than the average person walking down the street so you are going to have to have your fingerprints taken in order to obtain your dealers license.
So you are going to register to have your fingerprints taken on the GAPS website, and then you apply for your license and when your license is on file with the Board you will be notified to report to your chosen fingerprint location for your fingerprints, this is a very easy process that we will cover extensively in your class as well. To find a class location near you just click the Class Schedule link at the top of the Georgiadealer.com website
Once again my name is Delus Johnson I will be giving your dealer training class and I look forward to meeting you and will do everything that I can to help you start your new business. If you are ready to stop working for someone else and letting someone else make money off of your hard work, if you want to own your own business and keep ALL the money your work for, when you are ready to enter the world’s most incredible business, just click the blue enroll button at the top of the page. I’m Delus Johnson and I want to wish you the very best of luck with your new business
Find a Georgia Dealer
Training Class near you by viewing the
Dealer Class Schedule
We are here to help you start your
Georgia motor vehicle dealership!
Delus Johnson-Lead Instructor