Georgia Dealer Frequent Questions
required to take the pre-license class to obtain an Georgia
Used Dealer License?
Automobile Dealer Training Association approved by the State
of Georgia to provide Georgia Used Dealer Pre-License Training?
have to take a test at the end of the class?
topics will we cover in the class?
are the classes held?
the price of tuition for the dealer training class?
have to take a class every year?
have to pre-register for class?
class cover Federal dealer laws?
Ethics so important in this business?
more questions, what do I do?
Am I required to take the pre-license class
to obtain an Georgia Used Dealer License?
All persons obtaining an Georgia Used
Dealer License are required to attend a 4 hour pre-license
training course. Georgia State Law does not allow the dealer
pre-license training to be held online, you must attend an
in-class training session led by an instructor. Please click
on the Georgia
Dealer Pre-License Class Schedule to find a location
near you to attend your State mandated dealer education
dealers continuing educations is, however, allowed to be
taken online. You can take the 6 hour Georgia Dealer
Continuing Education course on you computer or phone. Click
Georgia Dealer Continuing Ed link to enroll in the
Continuing Ed course for Georgia dealers.
Is the Automobile Dealer Training Association
approved by the State of Georgia to provide Used Dealer
Automobile Dealer Training Association is not approved by
the State of Georgia to provide your Used Dealer Pre-License
Training. We are approved by the Georgia Board of Used Motor
Vehicle Dealers. You will receive an official
Certificate of Completion that you will submit with your dealer license
Do I have to take a test at the end of the
No test is required in the class, however Georgia law
requires you to sit through the entire 4 hour training in
order to receive a Certificate of Completion. The dealer
pre-license classes are held in comfortable ADA accessable
meeting rooms throughout the State. Our dealer pre-license
classes are held in Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon,
Savannah, and Valdosta. We bring the training to you so you
do not have to drive very far to attend your dealer
training. The State of Georgia does not allow you to take
your dealer pre-license training online. The law requires
you to sit in a classroom with an instructor. When you have
completed your dealer pre-license training, you will be
ready to apply for your dealer license correctly and run
your new business in compliance with state and federal
What topics will we cover in class?
We will start the class with an overview of the paperwork
that you will need to gather up and mail to the State in
order to obtain your license. We will complete a used dealer
license application to ensure you are completing it
correctly. You will learn how apply for an Georgia Sales Tax
License, a Federal Employee Identification Number and many
other Georgia dealer startup requirements. We show you how
to find out if the building you want to use for your Georgia
dealership meets local zoning. We talk about ethics and
integrity as well. Operating your new business with the
highest level of ethical standards will lead to greater long
term profits when you get your Georgia dealers license. After the class you will be confident and ready to start &
operate your used Georgia dealership.
Where are the classes held?
The classes are held throughout Georgia
in Atlanta, Columbus, Augusta, Savannah, Valdosta, and Macon. For a complete list of class locations and
dates please visit the
What is the price of tuition for the dealer
The tuition for one person is $249 and each additional
person is $199. The dealer license renwal course is $99.
Each person that attends the training will receive a
Certificate of Completion that you will mail in with your
application and will be kept on file with the State. If you
do not make your tuition back on the sale of your first
vehicle, you are not marking your vehicles up enough. You
will learn pricing strategies with our training.
Do I have to take
a class to renew my dealer license?
Yes. You must take continuing education training every
two years in order to renew your dealer license. The renewal
training can be taken online. We will talk about how to
renew your license in your dealer pre-license course. If you
are a currently licensed dealer, you must take your dealer
continuing education within 9 months before your license
expires on March of even years. You can take your continuing
ed course to renew your dealers license beginning in July of
each odd year. The continuing ed training must be taken
between July of odd years and March of even years. You only
have a 9 month window to take your continuing education. We
will discuss this in your dealer training class.
Do I have to pre-register for
the dealer pre-license class?
Yes, pre-registration is
required for class attendees. When pre-register online your Certificate of Completion
will be pre-printed with your information.
Does the class cover Federal dealer laws?
Yes. Failure to follow strict Federal dealer guidelines
could lead to extensive non negotiable Federal fines of
$25,000 per occurrence or more. The class covers important
Federal dealer topics such as Federal Trade Commission
Buyers Guide rule, GLB Privacy Act, Federal lending
compliance, driver privacy protection, nationwide commercial
codes, US Patriot Act, FTC Red Flags Rule, and more.
Why are ethics so important
in this business?
Operating an Georgia dealership with ethics and integrity
will take you to the very top of the industry. You will
build your credibility your first few months in business. A
good, positive reputation will lead to more repeat business,
more referrals, and more profits. In your class we
will discuss the importance of operating your dealership
with the highest ethical standards.
I have more questions, what
should I do?
Call us at 800-369-2467, email
or complete our
form. We would love to help you obtain your Georgia Used
Good Luck in Obtaining Your Georgia Dealer License!
We are here to help you start your Georgia Used Motor
Delus Johnson-Lead Instructor