How Much Does it Cost to Get a
Georgia Dealer's License
Georgia Dealers License
The State of Georgia charges only $170 dollars for a used motor vehicle license and they also charge a 10 dollar mail in fee, so you when you are paying for your dealer license you will need to enclose a check for 180 dollars in the envelope you are mailing to the
Board and by the way when I refer to the Board I am talking about the
Georgia Board of Used Motor Vehicle Dealers that meet several times a year in Macon. You are going to mail all your dealer license paperwork to the Board and they will review then hopefully grant your dealers license. In your dealer training class we are going to complete all the paperwork that you must send to the Board and I will be giving you that class in person and I am going to do my best to ensure that you complete all the dealer license paperwork correctly so you are submitting the paperwork CORRECTLY so you will have your Georgia dealer license approved as soon as possible, so you can open your business as soon as possible and get you making some money as soon as possible, will spend a good part of your dealer pre-license class completing all the paperwork together before you mail it to the
Board in Macon.
The law in Georgia requires you take a 4 hour pre-license course in order to obtain you dealers license and the tuition for your dealer course is $249
In you class we will also talk about how to obtain your fingerprints, you must register for your fingerprints, then apply for your license, then the Board notifies you to report to your fingerprint location and I will cover this with you when you are in taking your pre license class, very simple to get your fingerprint requirement taken care of, so the finger prints cost abut $52 so right now 189 for the dealer license itself, $249 for the tuition for your dealer class and about $52 for your fingerprints.
Most dealers are going to be required to register with the
Georgia Secretary of State since the Georgia Secretary of State wants to have a record of every business operating in the State of Georgia including this business you are about to open, and I am going to show you how to register with the secretary of state in your dealer training class, and by the way if you do decide to GO FOR IT and obtain your own dealer license, my name is Delus Johnson and I will be giving your class and I look forward to meeting you in person, just go to Georgiadealer.com and click on the
Class Schedule button at the top of any page to find a dealer class near you. We will go through the process of registering your new business with the Georgia Secretary of state which will cost $100 if you want to get your Secretary of State registration faster you can if you want to pay a little more but lets use the minimum $100 Secretary of State filing fee for the purpose of getting your dealers license with the minimum amount of investment.
You must also obtain a
Federal Employment ID
and a Georgia sales tax ID number. In your class I will show you how to easily obtain your
Georgia Sales Tax ID number AND your
Federal Employment ID number for FREE. There are companies out there that will charge $300 dollars to help you apply for your Georgia Sales Tax number and some companies will charge you as much as $600 dollars to apply for your Federal Employment Tax number for your. Well you do not need to pay someone to a apply for your Sales Tax number and Employment Number, I am going to show you in your dealer class how to easily obtain both of these required numbers for FREE. Don’t pay anyone to obtain your Sale Tax License or Employment Number I will show you how easy it is to obtain both of these numbers with a few clicks of the mouse on your computer or phone in your class at not additional charge. Both of these numbers can be obtained for free and I will show you how in your dealer license training class
The State of Georgia has a law that requires every person applying for a dealers license to obtain a LOCAL business license from your city or county. If you are opening a dealership in a city you will need to obtain a local city business license, is you are opening your new business in a county you will need a county business license. Most city or county business licenses cost $25 a year. In you dealer license training class, I am going to show you how to register your business with your local city of county, we will cover this process extensively in your dealer training class, very easy to do. So here is another $25 in startup costs..
If you are selling used motor vehicles, which I am assuming you will do, you must obtain a $35000 dealer surety bond, no in get calls every day from entrepreneurs just like you that ask something like “you mean i have to pay $35000 to get this bond thing? “ no not at all, a $35,000 dealer surety bond does not cost $35000, it’s prices is based on your credit score so with good credit you should be paying about $150 top $250 a year for a $35000 dealer surety bond. If you have couple of bad marks on your credit score you can much higher price for your bond. So lets say with good credit you bond should cost $200
One of the largest expenses of obtaining a Georgia used motor vehicle license is your insurance. The State of Georgia requires you obtain an insurance policy BEFORE you are granted a dealer license. So you must obtain business insurance that is referred to as a garage liability policy. Now the pricing of your garage liability insurance is determined by your DRIVING record. If you have a good driving record you should be spending about $800 to $1000 a year on your garage insurance. Another factor that can affect your insurance is the geographic area of your dealership. The closer your dealership is to a downtown area the higher your insurance rates will be, the further out your dealership is from the core of a downtown area the lower your rates will be. So if you are starting a dealership in downtown Macon, your insurance rates will be higher than if you are obtaining your dealers license in a rural part of Monroe County.
Now even though the estimate for insurance for someone with a good driving record is about $800 to $1000 a year, most insurance companies will allow you to finance your insurance, so lets say your insurance costs $1000 you can probably get the policy started with about $250 down and make monthly payments which would substantially reduce your total startup costs.
Dealer License Fee$180
Dealer Class tuition$249
Secretary of State Filing$100
Local Business License$25
Dealer Surety Bond$200
Total Cost to Obtain License$1,706
Automobile Dealer Training
Association State Approved Dealer License Training
- Save time and money by not
having to go through the process yourself.
- You'll be able to sell cars
money than you ever have before!
The Automobile Dealer Training Association 4 Hour Dealer Pre-License Course is Approved by the Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Board and will meet you State mandated 4 hour dealer pre-license training requirement. We have researched all the steps you must complete in order to apply for your dealer license so you do not have to. You will save an enormous amount of time by allowing to serve as you Georgia dealer license training partner. We will streamline the process of obtaining your dealer license so you can get licensed as soon as possible, open your new business as soon as possible and start making money as soon as possible.
Our dealer license training is going to show you how to make money legally selling vehicles not only in Georgia, but your Georgia dealer license will open up selling opportunities throughout the United States, but you dealership location will need to be in Georgia in order to meet the requirements to get licensed by the State of Georgia.
This business will allow you to make more money that you ever have before a Georgia dealers license provides unlimited money making opportunities
Dealer License Training Near Your Home
Get your license quickly and easily, take training near you without having to travel. We have dealer training classes in Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon, Savannah, and Valdosta. You do not have to drive to Atlanta to take your dealer training class. You can take the dealer pre-license training class near your home. But if you are in Atlanta, we have special section in the Atlanta dealer training course that will show you how to find locations in Atlanta that are zoned for you to operate a dealership.
Your dealer training class instructor, Delus Johnson, has been approved by the Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Board to provide your State mandated dealer pre-license training course. You will learn about the latest products and services from our company, as well as gain valuable knowledge to help you succeed in your business. Your training is conducted in a comfortable hotel meeting space. The course will start promptly at 8:00AM and you will be out the door at 12:30. You are not required to take a test on the day of your course but you are required attend the entire class.
- Rest easy knowing that you're fully compliant with Georgia state law.
- Sell more vehicles with pride, knowing that you sold them legally
After completing your training class, you will be able to apply for your dealer license and sell your vehicles with confidence. We know that success in the automotive industry depends on compliance education and we are committed to providing you with the best training available.
Starting a car dealership in Georgia can be a lucrative business venture, but there are a few things you need to know before getting started. Here are the steps you need to take to get your dealership up and running.
First, you will need to establish your business as a legal entity. This can be done by registering with the state and obtaining a business license. You will also need to register with the Georgia Secretary of State, we will show you how to do this in your dealer class. and obtain a dealers license.
There's a lot of competition in the car sales market, but with the right approach, you can be successful. Here are three tips to get started:
1) Make sure you have a good selection of cars to offer your customers. You don't want to be stuck with one or two models that no one wants to buy.
2) Price your cars competitively. You may not be the cheapest option in town, but you should still be reasonably priced.
3) Market yourself well. Advertise your business online and in local newspapers and magazines.
You will need to find a location for your dealership. Ideally, your location should be close to major highways and shopping areas or any high traffic are if you are going to depend on drive by traffic. You may also be an internet dealer which will allow you to sell vehicle online. We will talk about his in your dealer training class. You will also need enough space to display cars or whatever vehicles you will be selling.